The Power of Paying Attention

Hey, marketing people! The key word in Social Media isn’t the “Media”, it’s the “Social”.

This past weekend I spent 24 hours in Chicago with my niece, her fiance, and my brothers-in-law; professional business people all. I made a point of “checking-in” on Foursquare at each venue through whose door I passed.

I checked-in at the Marriott Chicago and proceeded from there to Rock Bottom Brewery where I spent the next 2 hours. From thence to Gibson’s for a delightful 5-hour dinner. Then from LuxBar to Pippin’s Pub and finally back to the Marriott. Day two; checked-out of the Marriott and had brunch at the Village Tavern.

It wasn’t until I stopped at the 2-year-old Elysian Hotel Chicago that a single one of my check-ins was acknowledged. We had passed the Elysian the prior evening and I wanted to “check it out” before leaving Chicago; spoke briefly with the Concierge and walked through a few public areas. Obviously they were paying attention as my check-in was followed shortly with a thank you for visiting and a Twitter “Follow”. I neither introduced myself nor exchanged business cards, but they knew I was there–and who I am!

Low-and-behold, I no sooner returned the favor with a “Follow-back” than I was IMMEDIATELY “Followed” by the Peninsula Hotel Chicago.

It seems someone else was paying attention.

All of this networking took place in the presence, and with the full knowledge, of my party of 5. We were all duly impressed.

Oh, did I mention that my nephew-to-be’s Best Man, with whom I will be in three weeks, happens to work for Google in London, or that my niece’s sister previously handled Social Media for Wet Seal?

Two of the very best Chicago hotels were paying attention to someone who hadn’t spend a dime at either … yet. They just thought it seemed like a good idea to connect.

They were both right!

They did; I have; and now you have read about it.

THAT is the power of Social Media networking.

About TPL_JR

CENTRAL INVESTMENT COMPANY, Incorporated 1895 is a commercial real estate investment, development, management, brokerage, and consulting services company working to develop assets to their highest potential for more than 100 years.
This entry was posted in Business, Marketing, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

